Do i suck at drums?

rachelle94

I've been playing for about 4 years and started out my 1st year in a school then subsequently self taught. During these years i mostly learnt songs by ear and i don't practice stuff such as strokes and rudiments. Also i'm in a averagely known local thrash metal band and many drummers from the scene say i'm great(maybe they didnt mean it). Just today I signed up lessons with one of the most respected drummers in my country and he said some of my basic techniques are incorrect and i should start from scratch. I feel like a loser and i should give up drums. Should I?

Just because a drum teacher tells you that some of your technique is incorrect, doesn't mean you have to or should quit...if the teacher is right, then I say listen and learn from them..constructive criticism isn't a bad thing...

Last edited:
I've been playing for 30 years without a lesson (someday). If a teacher was to evaluate my style, he'd probably tell me the same thing. Does that keep me from playing Black Dog or Smells like Teen Spirit just like on the record? Hell no! If it's in your blood, then it's in your blood and that's all that matters.

hey man, even if you DO suck, don't worry. EVERYONE sucks at some point, and there isn't a time hack to reach your full potential (Peter Erskine, a jazz legend of our time, started drums at 18). if your peers are giving you the thumbs up, then they see a class act drummer in the making! there's a difference between a drummer who's at the basics phase, and some guy that just makes noise. just keep at it, remember: with learning new exercises, start off slow, keep your wrists relaxed, move the sticks smoothly, nail the riff then REPEAT REPEAT REPEAT!!!

So you've been playing four years. So you've just now started taking lessons. I would say that you're actually in a really good position to drastically improve. Four years isn't a lot of habits to unlearn. But it will take some dedication and hard work to do.