Skins for pearl session customs maple

dennyb

Hello everyone . I have just purchased a set of Pearl Session Custom drums.
The tom sizes are 10, 12, 14, 16. I was looking for some help in selecting skins
for this kit. I play anything from rock to jazz. The kit is maple.

Thx, Dennis

I play Session Customs and it really boils down to personal preference but if it were me I'd go with clear ambassadors on the tops and bottoms. But that's me and the sound I like. Nice and open.

Thanks for the info, it's aleays good to hear other drummer's experience. the kit
came with Remos Pinstripes. I don't care for the way they sound at any tuning
level.
Thx, Dennis

How thick are the shells on these Sessions? I have a Masters MRX kit with maple shells and they sound the best with a single ply head....either clear or coated. The kit came with clear Ambassadors top and bottom and just sing with that head combination.

I have used Pinstripes in the past because it seems the band members don't like a wide open drum sound. More muffling the better...at least they think anyway. So, i bought a used Export ELX kit to gig with that has Pinstripes and they love the sound of them.

To each his own I guess...

ddrum, from the research I have done the Session Series is constructed as a
6 ply shell. Thanks for the infor on the clear Ambassodors.

Dennis

Those are great sounding drums! Hard to make them sound bad IMO :)

I once played a set with clear emperors on top, ambassadors on the bottom. They sounded fantastic. A nice balance between thick and rounded.

I have a Pearl Session Maple kit as well. I have had them for about 6 years.
My tom sizes are 8x8, 10x8, 12x10, 14x12 & 22x18.
I use a Yamaha Steve Jordan snare drum.