Beginner's bass drum setup

lowdowner

I'm new to drums and have a kit by Odery - the Eyedentity 22" jobbie. Love it but when i've seen other people's kit they seem to either have a hole in their rear drum skin, or a blanket or pillow inside. Mine has neither... what are they all about and should I add one or t'other?

thanks for any advice :)

Installing a blanket or a pillow inside of a bass drum, or "Stuffing" does these things.
It stops the heads from vibrating as much as they normally would and the drum produces a "thump" sound instead of a "boom" sound.
Stuffing lowers the volume output of a drum.
Stuffing makes the beater bounce on the head less after the head is struck if you hold your foot down on the pedal.

Cutting a hole in the resonant head of the drum, or "Porting" does this.
The hole allows air to escape the drum faster and the drum will not sustain sound for as long a period of time as an un-ported drum will. The heads will simply vibrate less.
The porthole allows sound to escape the drum in a focused mannor providing more of a "Punch" sound instead of a "Boom" sound.
The beater will not bounce as much on the batter head after the drum is struck if you hold your foot down on the pedal.

Wow - complete reply - thanks :)

But do people cut holes in their skins themselves? And why doesn't it come like that in the first place? I'm nervous doing surgery on my spanking new gear... :(

Nice kit. The port hole that some drummers put in the resonant (front) head is there (a) to allow a microphone to be positioned inside the drum without removing the while head and (b) to allow easier access to the inside of the drum if you want to add/remove any internal muffling.

This brings us to the second point. Pillows, blankets, bits of foam etc are typically placed inside the bass drum if you're looking got that closed THUD sound. It also helps to tune the batter head of the drum low or to what is often called Just Above Wrinkle (JAW).