Quick question - hands hitting eachother.

Abstand

I am very new to drums and drumming, i've only been playing for a few days.

I have a question about a particular beat that i've been trying.

i've found that when I am playing a beat on the hi-hat and snare, that if the snare is played seperately from the hi-hat then my hands hit eachother while I am bringing my hi-hat stick down and my snare stick up, I hope that makes sense. I've tried changing the way/height in which I play but it still seems to happen.

I wish I knew what the beat was called to help describe what im talking about, but hopefully someone will understand what im trying to say.

My question is: How do I avoid my hands/sticks hitting eachother while playing these beats?

I am very new to drums and drumming, i've only been playing for a few days.

I have a question about a particular beat that i've been trying.

i've found that when I am playing a beat on the hi-hat and snare, that if the snare is played seperately from the hi-hat then my hands hit eachother while I am bringing my hi-hat stick down and my snare stick up, I hope that makes sense. I've tried changing the way/height in which I play but it still seems to happen.

I wish I knew what the beat was called to help describe what im talking about, but hopefully someone will understand what im trying to say.

My question is: How do I avoid my hands/sticks hitting eachother while playing these beats?

Hello and welcome to the forum mate- I am sure you will have loads of help on this!
From me I can suggest that it is onlky a matter of position and possibly grip style- are you using traditional grip? It can happen if the hi hat is too close to the snare, maybe just for that beat switch to match grip for a little more space- thats what I do for a shuffle beat in the main!