Getting Used To Heel Down/Up Change?

Souljacker

Silver Member
My teacher has been getting me to switch from heel down to heel up recently saying it's better for control and speed. I've been playing heel down for 7 years. So naturally I'm trying to get used to the change.

I'm just wondering how long drummers here found it took them to feel comfortable with the transition and did you stick with the change or go back to your original ways?

I started out playing heel up. Then did some heel down for a while on some low volume jazz and singer/songwriter stuff. Nowadays I've found myself using both within the same song. I think some things, like doubles, are easier to play up to speed and controlled utilizing heel up. Other things, like letting the beater bounce naturally off the head, is easier playing heel down (although in recent times I've been practicing playing off the head with heel up). I also get less fatigued when I play heel down, because the rest of my leg can relax more. But when you need power, nothing beats heel up ;-)

Edit: So, I actually never went from one to the other. I learnt both almost from the beginning, and I feel I have benefited quite a bit from it. I don't think you should try to "forget" your old technique. Rather embrace the new and combine it with what you already know. I think it's almost like different grips on your sticks. French, german or american. Limiting yourself to one technique will limit your ability to execute new or different tricks/chops/fancysmancystuff/grooves/etc. Not saying that there are some things you'll never nail because of your way of playing, but I think it will become easier if you're able to switch between the different ways of playing.

Last edited:
My teacher has been getting me to switch from heel down to heel up recently saying it's better for control and speed. I've been playing heel down for 7 years. So naturally I'm trying to get used to the change.