No drumming for the next week or so...very bummed :(

MaryO

Platinum Member
I just hate it when work gets in the way of my fun! I'm a litigation paralegal which means I'm in the courtroom for all of our trials running the technology. We have a trial starting Thursday and during trial we are working 10-14 hours a day, getting into the courtroom early to set up and working late preparing for the next day's witnesses, etc. I don't mind the work other than it means virtually no drumming (we often work through the weekends as well) until this trial is over. Hopefully this one will be over in 5-7 days.

This does not make MaryO a happy camper...will probably need the stress relief drumming could provide. I'm thankful to have a good job, no doubt, but this is really messing with my priorities....lol.

Oh well...see you guys in about a week :(

Mary, can you bring a practice pad and sticks? I've taken up practicing rudiments when being in the restroom for some months now, have read that others do this, too. You know what, this time really sums up to a total which makes a big difference having this time invested or not. I'm so glad I put up a stand & pad & sticks in the restroom and have gotten so used to it that not practicing at those moments seems a complete waste of time.

You could also check some finger tools like the FretMaster by Planet Waves/D'Addario to strengthen your fingers. I always take this thing with me when being on a walk/shopping. Again, that's a lot of time you can spend on beneficial things, in 'multi-tasking mode'.

Have some fun with metrics on your thighs ( not measuring your weight. Tap 4's with one hand while playing odd groupings with the other. 7 within 4, 5 within 8 etc. Great fun and you don't need sticks or a pad and you can get a metronome on your phone.

Too easy. :)

Last edited: