Learning About Gear

M2Kstyle

Hi,

I've been playing the set pretty consistently for about 20 years, and I feel confident in my playing, but I feel somewhat unconfident about my knowledge of certain types of gear, as well as tuning drums. I can get by, but I want to become really knowledgeable.

Specifically, I feel confident when it comes to choosing:
- cymbals
- pedals
- stands
- sticks

But I feel somewhat unconfident (although not useless) about:
- choosing toms/snares/bass based on materials (wood type, metal types, etc)
- choosing sizes of toms/snare/bass
- tuning to get specific sounds

I would love to take some kind of class, or series of classes, that focuses on drum hardware and tuning, but I've never heard of anything like that. Is that something anyone has heard of? Any ideas how I can find look for something like that close to me? In case anyone knows my area, I live in Seattle.

Thanks for the help.

Visit this forum as much as you can. Read up. Ask questions. This forum contains the most knowledgeable and experienced drummers, along with the most relaxed atmosphere, that I've found. There's a wealth of information here.

Just cruise the different categories of the Gear forum and check out the Drum Tuning Bible sticky thread near the top of this forum. That ought to keep you busy for a while.

As far as how different types of wood are going to sound with toms and kick drum there's not a lot of difference that you're going to be able to hear while you're playing, the sonic differences are going to be much more noticeable if you're recording the drums.
With a snare there is a big difference between metal and wood but tuning and head choice have a lot to do with the sound.

With choosing drum size the depth and diameter both will have an effect on how the drum sounds, follow this link for detailed info: http://mikedrums.com/tuning/shell.html

Have you considered working at a music store even if part-time?