Returning to the Drum Set after Five Years

TJDrums

Hello all,

So I played drums for a few years in high school. I'm a guitarist of about thirteen years, but I picked up the sticks in high school to play drums for a punk band for a few years.

Unfortunately, I came to a point where I had to give up the kit. To make a long story short, I'm back.

I've picked up a practice pad, a few set of sticks, and pieced together a decent kit on CL. I picked up a DW7000 single pedal, Xs20 cymbals (Hi-hat, 16" crash, 20" ride), a pearl export 4-piece kit, and all the hardware. I've put some new heads on the kit, tuned em up, and I'm ready to get back to playing.

So here's where I ask for some advice. Where do I begin to learn?

I know all my rudiments, and practice them to a metronome at different speeds quite regularly. I know some exercises to strengthen my weak hand, which has lost its focus due to my hiatus. Back in the day I worked through Tommy Igoe's basic beat DVD, and used JoJo Mayer's hand technique DVD to help strengthen my technique. I know of different bass drum techniques (swivel, slide, etc).

So, what to learn? Should I just try to work my way through different songs, and learn some new drum licks along the way? I want to maximize my productivity and not waste any practice time. I have much less free time now than I did back in high school!

Its good to be back, and I thank you all in advance for your advice.

I think everyone on here will agree that the best advice is that you find a good teacher who you trust and will send you in the right directions. A good teacher is invaluable and will no doubt maximize your potential. Good luck and stay with it.