New Double Bass Pedals

Kopi

Hey guys...been browsing here a while, haven't posted too much. I'm hoping you can give me some opinions on new bass pedals. I'm in Canada first off, I can purchase from www.MusiciansFriend.com, but locally I have http://www.long-mcquade.com/ . I'm also looking at the used market near Toronto. I don't play a lot of metal style double kicks, I use them mainly for accents and fun :).

I'm hoping to spend in the $200 range...I've found a few offers

DW 7000 Double Bass Pedal $175 - After asking, the pedals are supposedly in mint condition, and while the buyer has no pictures, he has confirmed they are the same as these pedals

Tama Iron Cobra w/ Case $100 - This sounds like a really good deal to me. I'm told the pedals are about 5 years old, I'm a little new to the drum market but I'm hoping that even being 5 years old, they are still these iron cobras?

DW 5000 Double Pedal $225 - Pretty straight forward..good pedals, fair price? Pictures provided...Pic1, Pic2

Any opinions on the above would be great :D

Cheers,
Greg

The Tamas sound like the best deal. Just check them out really well for linkage wear or loose u-joints.

I play a DW7000 single as a backup pedal or when I take a small set up with minimal and light hardware. It has a nice feel for me because it's sort of heavy. I like heavier pedals.

The DW5000s are only a little better than the Iron Cobras but it's really a personal preference kind of thing.

Get the Tamas.

They aren't a different model or anything are they? I wasn't too sure if maybe the Iron Cobras I'm familiar with are different than those that were around 5 years ago.

You need to get your feet on them, or pedals just like them. I had a set of DW 5000's, and a DW 5000 single, before I up-graded to my Yamaha Direct Drive singles. I didn't like the Tama IC or the DW 7000 at all, but that's my personal preference. Your choice, might be completely different.