Longest amount of time you sat at your kit and not played anything?

MrPockets

Gold Member
I usually have a laptop next to me when practicing so it can go up to ten minutes.

Re: longest ammount if time you sat at your kit and not played anything?

I usually sit there silently while the rest of the guys set their gear up (I'm usually all set up before everyone else)

I am a guitarist, as well, and it is always infuriating when I am trying to set up, tune, or communicate with the other members, and the drummer is just pounding away with not a care in the world.

Ten minutes is usually about how long that runs

I usually have a laptop next to me when practicing so it can go up to ten minutes.

Same situation for me too, really. Or I'll get a text I have to reply to. If this leads to a string of texts then I'll start getting annoyed and just ignore everyone...

Tcolumbia37 - I'm fairly disciplined with my bashing at practise as I find it annoying too when I see other people do it (even at gigs!).

But I think guitarists are possibly even worse than drummers, trouble is, they start playing a song, unrelated to anything you are going to do and they think it's a performance where everyone is listening to them when really we are all just trying to burn their head off with intense lazer-stares until it stops.
Or they solo endlessly. Even worse, if you have 2 guitarists they'll either battle OR solo over each other.

If you add a bashing drummer to the mix it has to be one of the most unpleasant experiences going. Then the singer lies down on the floor usually and stares at his bits of paper (that he's read a thousand times before) and wishes he was dead....

Musicians eh? aren't they annoying?

Same situation for me too, really. Or I'll get a text I have to reply to. If this leads to a string of texts then I'll start getting annoyed and just ignore everyone...