Best way to go about selling cymbals? If I put them on craigslist, should I put a set price?

ba dum tish

And how do I figure out what that price should be? Or should I do something like give them to the best offer? Also, should I sell them individually? I have a full cymbal set (all the same brand and style) and I only ever used the ride. The rest of them have been unused since I got them about 6 years ago. I've never done anything like this before. I'm guessing craigslist is the way to go from looking over past threads.

Also, I need new cymbals. Should I talk about possible trading?

Craigslist is not a bidding site and I ignore ads that say OBO. Tell me how much you want, I make you an offer and you take it or leave it or make a counter off. I have seen people really pissed because they drive an hour for an item and when they get there they are told the seller has a better offer. If you set a price on the phone or by mail and it is agreed to, stick with it. You can sell them here for no fee or pay a fee and watch a bidding war on eBay, or sell the at a set price or Make an Offer which you can accept or not.

Do a search on eBay for "completed listing" to see how much your cymbals are selling for in the auction format. Craigslist is great, because it's a local sale (no shipping involved), you get cash, and it's free to use. However, your audience is pretty limited to the people in your area and you can expect an offer much less than what you're asking in most cases.

I start on Craigslist, then if they don't sell there, I move them to eBay where the audience is a million times bigger. Of course, you have to pay eBay and PayPal fees going that route, but if you really want to sell them, it's a good way to do it.

I've tried selling in a set and separtely before, so think about that when you're doing searches.