Where did the 'skip-note' in Jazz come from?

K.Howden

Hey! How are we all?

I've been learning and playing Jazz since September 2009 and something that's always intruiged me is the skip-note in the Jazz ride cymbal pattern.
Of course as we all know, you can swing a band just by playing quarter notes so I was wondering out of sheer curiosity a) when the early Jazz players started adding in the skip notes after beats two and four? and b) why they chose to do this?

Hope everyone is keeping well,

Kev

Edit: I'm sure Stan will be along soon to provide some illumination on this!

Thanks for posting that Todd, a fascinating read :) I've rarely heard Kenny's name mentioned...I've heard plenty of about Papa Jo but reading that it's such a shame that Kenny isn't revered in the highest regard or known about by every drummer today (younger or older) as it seems to me had he not persisted with doing something different, non of us would be playing the drum set the way we do today.

Hope you're well,

Kev

This Kenny Clarke interview talks about the origins of the ride pattern. He doesn't address the "skip" note specifically, but the relationship to the old way of playing time- on the snare drum, rolling on two and four- seems pretty clear.
I hate to seem like I'm criticizing Clarke, and I certainly wasn't around at the time, but there are instances of the standard swing cymbal pattern, on cymbals, long before the late 30s. For example, check out something like Bix Biederbecke's "Clarinet Marmalade" from 1927 (I'm not sure who the drummer is on it, unfortunately). I'm sure there are earlier examples of it than that, though--Biederbecke was just the first earlier artist I checked, actually.