Ghost Notes

So..... what are they?

I know that sounds stupid, but I'm self-taught & don't know the terminology. When I used to play in drumlines, 'ghost note' meant a stroke that was stopped just before the stick hit the drum; used as a visual effect and/or timing device. Anyway, I hear the term a lot on the forums, so I thought I'd ask.

simply put - they are notes hit with less intensity - sometimes referred to as "grace" notes or "accent" notes. A good rudiment to practice is called "tap-ups" or "flams". Basically, hit softer notes keeping the head of the stick about an inch off the drum head and no higher. Combine that with harder hits with the opposite hand. It adds a lot of dynamics to your playing.

I have never heard it called an accent note, especially as an "accent" is the opposite of a ghost. Has anyone else heard that terminology?

The best way to understand ghost notes is to go see a live drummer who uses them. You will notice that the left hand moves a lot, even if all you really hear cut above the rest is the 2 and 4. The motion on the snare helps propel the band, shapes the sound, and gives a better "feel" to the music, even if you can't really pick it out aurally.

I have never heard it called an accent note, especially as an "accent" is the opposite of a ghost. Has anyone else heard that terminology?

The best way to understand ghost notes is to go see a live drummer who uses them. You will notice that the left hand moves a lot, even if all you really hear cut above the rest is the 2 and 4. The motion on the snare helps propel the band, shapes the sound, and gives a better "feel" to the music, even if you can't really pick it out aurally.

Yeah, an accent is accentuated or louder not like a ghost which is phantom like, grace I have heard used in conjunction with ghost but not accent.