What do you put in your bass drum?

I've tried lots of things: small blanket, pillows of different sizes, foam blocks, cut up camping mattresses. I have a mid size pillow in my 20" mapex pro m bass drum, but I'm not getting enough resonance from the drum.

Anyone try the manufactured kick drum pillows? I think DW makes them.

Any other suggestions?

I've been using the DW gig pillow in my bass drum for almost 10 years . Never had any problems with it, or found it to be too much or too little damping, and I play a ton of gigs
every year.

In my 16", I cut a hand towel in two, rolled it up, and taped it to the 6 oclock inside both heads.
In my 20", I have a small, dense pillow that when layed inside, touches both heads (its a 14" deep) at the same time.
Neither are ported.

Absolutely nothing...used to put all kinds of crazy stuff in there, but learned how to tune the kick to have punch and low-end without overtones.

Absolutely nothing...used to put all kinds of crazy stuff in there, but learned how to tune the kick to have punch and low-end without overtones.

+1, nothing at all. learning to tune helps.

Lately I’ve been using a medium sized wool blanket rolled up (not folded) so it becomes a snake a couple of metres long. (It’s narrow enough to fit through the smallish hole in the reso head, although that doesn’t really matter.) I coil it up inside the drum, and then it’s easy to play around with how much blanket touches each head. (The reso hole is just big enough to let me reach inside.) Because it coils around itself, I can adjust the snake’s loops so they support whatever part is touching the head(s).

That might sound like a lot of blanket, but it’s actually pretty minimal, and I can go with no blanket touching either head if I want to.

26" bass drum.
Coated Ambassador batter.
Homemade rolled muffler for the batter, that goes between head and pedal posts.
Piece of Coated Ambassador for beater patch.
Smooth White front, open head.