DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 04-20-2011, 09:46 PM

Default Self Taught Drummer Needs Technique.

Hey I'm 20 years old and I've been playing since I was 8.. for about the past 3 years I've been without a kit, but I just got a new set and im back in the saddle.

I pretty much just figured out everything up to this point on my own. And my techniques are all developed through listening to drummers and trying to mimic the sound they created. This has got me pretty far but I want to be better. I started practicing rudiments and those seem to help alot.. but I have alot of bad habbits im finding out.

I wanna hear from other drummers from the same kind of background, and how they have or are continuing to transition into more technical play.
Old 04-20-2011, 10:12 PM

Default Re: Self Taught Drummer Needs Technique.

Hey, I have a similar background... started playing when I was 14, took a couple lessons when I started but didn't get much out of it (my fault, I wasn't a serious student)... but other than that, I was completely self taught for many years after that. Learned most of what I know on my own.

If you can see a teacher/instructor in person, you'll get a lot out of it. Having another person in the same room as you who can observe what you're doing and pick it apart is very valuable. And you just can't reproduce that kind of feedback by reading books, watching videos, or listening tor recordings.