DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 06-11-2009, 12:11 AM

Default The Key to Speed

The Key to Speed?

Hi Guys,

I am pretty new to drumming, but have now been playing for a couple of years. I mix up playing along to songs with working through Tommy Igoe DVDs and doing fairly regular rudiments on a pad. One major problem I seem to have run into is getting sufficient speed in the right (main) hand on the hi hat.

Working on rudiments, I've made really good progress in increasing speed on rudiments with varied sticking patterns, such as flams/flam variants, paradiddles etc. However, I seem to be making virtually no speed progress at all with basic stuff such as single stroke rolls, doubles and one-hand rolls. This seems to be holding back my overall progress with improving on the kit, and it's getting really annoying.

My question to you all is, "what is the key to single hand speed?" (ie. repeated single strokes with the right hand, or repeated single strokes with the left). How much of it is due to strength (and can therefore be remedied by working out!), how much is due to technique (and can therefore be remedied by working on improving that) and how much is due to pure talent (and therefore can't be improved - maybe!)?.

My challenge to you all is to share your views on this, and if you can, to guestimate percentages: e.g if you think it's mainly due to strength, a bit down to technique, and a bit less to talent, you could put"

Strength - 60%
Technique - 30%
Talent - 10%

Of course, if you think that it's mainly down to talent, and those of us without enough will never quite get there, you could put something like:

Strength - 20%
Technique - 20%
Talent - 60%