DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear > Drums

Drums All about Drums and Drum Kits

Old 03-11-2015, 03:08 AM

Default Another guy asking for help with a decision....

Hey everyone! New guy on the boards here. This seems like a great drum forum.

I've been a drummer off and on for years. Mostly off haha. I'm looking to get back into it and I ran across this kit on Craigslist in my area. A 5 piece Mapex Meridian Maple. I haven't seen them in person yet because he's been out of town but I could see them this weekend. He claims these are like new and he's only played them out twice. He's asking $450 for the kit. No hardware or cymbals. Since I'm getting back into it I will need all of that stuff again. It seems like a great deal to me especially if they look as good as he claims (and everyone seems to rave about the Meridian maple) but I've been out of the loop for a long time and wanted to get other opinions.

If it matters I am looking to start a Def Leppard tribute band. I honestly have been torn between an acoustic kit and an electronic kit. That's a whole nother thread for another day lol.
Attached Images

Old 03-11-2015, 04:45 AM

Default Re: Another guy asking for help with a decision....

Go for it. Especially because that is a Black Panther snare, which are SWEET. There are some BP snares that alone cost more than $450.

Paiste
Pork Pie
Yamaha

Band: hxoxbx.bandcamp.com

Old 03-11-2015, 04:59 AM

$450 is good for any 5-piece maple kit, I'd say go for it. Like Militant said, that Black Panther is a nice snare. For a Def Leppard tribute band, depending on if and where you're gigging, maple may or may not be the best fit for a wood type. However, this deal looks like it really jumps out, so if you feel like you can make good use of a kit like this, I'd say do it.
Old 03-11-2015, 05:19 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidbehrens3.14 View Post