Introducing someone to the drums - tips

Ady

Hi,
Just a little bit of background. I'm a self taught drummer of 20+ years, aside from a few very basic lessons early on, shown a few pardiddle practices etc I've never had any proper training, something I occasionally regret to be honest, but I do my best. Now, Along with a few other folk we have set up a business in entertainment, part of our vision is to afford the opportunity to young people (circa 8 years up to around 15/16, school kids basically) who think they might want to take up an instrument a chance to try it out. this saves parents wasting money on something that might not stick, that is if they can afford to buy anything in the first place. Times are certainly not easy!!
We have a fully stocked rehearsal room set up which we maintain purely for the acts that we have on our roster. decent, well looked after gear, not the usual beat up stuff you get sacrificed in a regular rehearsal room. Our long term aim, aside from building a great roster of acts and getting them out working, will be to provide a safe environment for any kids to build bands and get into music without the pressure of buying equipment until they know it's something they want to stick with. Possibly being able to offer cheap deals on our gear and thus rotating our own equipment for the next generation. We have a guitar and bass tutor and a piano teacher already on board with us but up to this point we're stilling putting things in place regards to this part of the project, likely to go live around summertime with the schoolkids.

Now to the question...
I have a young lad coming in on thursday who 'thinks' he wants to learn to play drums, this lad is actually the son of some friends and i've told them that I am not a teacher but i'm happy for their lad to come down and 'have a bash' and show him some simple rythms and practical approaches.