Beginner Questions

esanger

Hi everyone. Newbie here. Started playing about a year ago with lessons from a blues drummer who lives in my neighborhood. Anyway, I had a few questions I was wondering if I could get some help with.

-I've taught myself to read notation, I prefer to read notation as opposed to tab. Any recommendations on where to purchase drum specific sheet music for rock songs (Floyd etc..)? I've found a few Hal Leonard transcribes but not much else. I find tab difficult to read while playing when I print it out. Anyone else have that problem? (printing is too light for one thing)

-Limb independence has been a struggle. Tried a few books. Any recommendations or techniques to help overcome and cut the string from my right hand to my right foot?

-Should I start focusing on rudiments next? Teacher is not big on rudiments but reading posts on here, it seems like the logical next step.

-Dumb question for the day: How do I get the messages in a thread to display from the oldest on the top on down? Right now, when I click a message I have to scroll all the way to the bottom and read upward..is there a setting on the forum for this?

Appreciate any help or guidance you can provide.

Eric

To change display of threads, click User CP (top left), then click "edit options" on left side, scroll down and you'll find the place to change display of threads to Linear, oldest first.

I have bought a few from Sheet Music direct. Also Drum Ninja.

Yes rudiments can be helpful in so many ways. Limb independence takes work. Start slow. lots of exercises out there.