Building a practice kit

AndeeT

Hi All. My first post here, so a little about myself first.

I've been playing guitar for 11 years and previously played in a band with this instrument. I picked up the drums a year ago when I moved house and wanted to start a band again and realised the ratio of guitarists to singers to drummer seems to be about 30:5:1. If you can't beat 'em...

Anyway, I'm loving playing the drums but at the moment (and for a long time in the future most probably) I don't own a kit, so I'm renting out a practice space with a kit every week. In the mean time I have been playing on a 12 inch practice pad on a tama snare stand. I recently bought (well, my other half did...) some DW 5002's which I'm also loving! I have a home made practice pad for those (will post a pic) that I'm happy with, even if it does look like a monster from a scrap heap. I just yesterday bought a 6 inch version of the Vic Firth pad, thinking that (as it has a thread on the underside) I will be able to screw that onto some hardware in the future to make a practice kit.

So at the moment, I have the a snare stand, 6 and 12 inch practice pads, my double pedals and pedal pad. Basically, I would like a three part kit, i.e snare, bass and either hi-hat or ride/crash. And I'd like it to be as small as possible.

My first Idea was to mount the 6 inch pad on the snare stand and buy a boom arm that grabs onto the main upright of the snare stand and on this mount a rubber cymbal. The boom arm I had in mind is something like this-

http://www.thomann.de/gb/millenium_cbc2_beckenarmset_mit_klammer.htm

Then, 'opposite', idea if you like, was to invest in a hi hat stand and rubber hi-hats, and have the boom arm coming off the hit-hats, screwing the 6 inch mountable pad onto this.

So my question to you is what hardware should I buy to get the smallest (while stable) 3 piece practice kit. Preferably all on a single stand, though I'm not sure if you start getting stability issues?

Thanks

Andy