Should I play or no?

vosscop

I'm new to the forum and this is my first post. I have been playing (seriously) for about three months. I have had periods in the past where I would try to learn but work or some other issue would absorb the time I should have been putting into drumming. I'm improving. I normally pick things up fairly quickly. Now I'm nervous. A guy I work with had his band leave to go play another venue. He is now looking for a drummer. I told him without hesitation I would do it. The first show is in two days. Now I'm afraid I'm going to screw it up. He says it will be fine we're just playing for fun! He plays older country type music (Eddie Rabbit, Alabama type stuff). Not really my style but that's what I've been listening to and trying to play lately. I want to play for people I just doubt I'm actually ready. I do not read music,I play by ear. Just wondering what some of you guys think.

You told him you'd do it and now you wanna pull out two days before show time and leave him holding the ball? Come on, are you a man or are you a mouse? :)

Do it mate. He's already taken the pressure off you. I'd take "playing for fun" to mean just that. Sounds like you have nothing to prove to anyone but yourself. Here's your opportunity to do it, I reckon.

I want to play for people I just doubt I'm actually ready.

No time like the present to find out then, is there?

I've always been of the mindset that if you can hold a beat, play solid time, you can follow and interect with other musicians, then you're ready. Test yourself. Go find out mate.

Be sure to let us all know how it goes, hey.

I absolutely want to do it I just don't want to screw it up ya know? I've told him we need to practice before we play together. His reply was he'll it's country music it's all the same beat anyway! I'm excited yet apprehensive about my current abilities. Thanks for the reassurance.

Do it!