DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 05-12-2011, 09:59 PM

Default Drumline, not doing it.. Is that bad?

I did indoor marching band, and I hated it. I played bass drum and it was awful.. Now my instructor said if I learned these 2 pieces and played them good then I could have a spot as snare drum. The thing is, all the other snare drummers will be ahead of me, I am not that good at counting.. So it would cause lots of stress on my self. Although I believe I will kinda regret it, because it would help in my sticking/rudiments a lot.. But I might just practice those at home, stress free.

What do you think?

-Adam
Old 05-12-2011, 10:11 PM

Default Re: Drumline, not doing it.. Is that bad?

I say suck it up and do it, all the work will pay off in spades.
Old 05-12-2011, 11:07 PM
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ex Nihilo View Post
Now my instructor said if I learned these 2 pieces and played them good then I could have a spot as snare drum.
Awesome! Take the opportunity! It means that you've proven yourself to be considered among the elite. You've earned it...do it!

Quote:
The thing is, all the other snare drummers will be ahead of me
So? That should inspire you to work your butt off and get better.

Quote:
I am not that good at counting.

Good. Recognizing your weaknesses is the first step towards getting better.
Quote:
it would cause lots of stress on my self
Why? Because it's challenging? Because you'd be pushing yourself? That's how you get better. Don't skip out on it because you're afraid of a little stress.

Quote:
I might just practice those at home, stress free.