DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 01-27-2011, 07:39 PM

Default Thoughts and questions on "simplistic" drumming from a beginner's point of view

Hello all again,

I have been learning to play for the past 3 months or so. While my favorite bands are nowhere near anything I can even attempt to play (Porcupine Tree, Dream Theater, Riverside, Rush, etc), I also like other more rithmically simpler bands like Coldplay, Red Hot Chilly Peppers, etc.

As I am playing along In My Place and Yellow by Coldplay (thanks DrumNinja!!!!), I had two thoughts that I would like to share and ask questions on:

1) I noticed that in slower tempos, like in these two sons, although they are in essence very easy songs, it is harder to be precise and keep the beat in synch with the track's drums then compared to other faster tempo songs. Is it true? Or am I just too much of a beginner?

2) Why do certain drummers, like the Coldplay drummer, do nothing? No fills, no nothing? While playing, sometimes I can just "feel" that there is a fill there, and I do my own thing, and it sounds good (not my execution itself, but the element within the song...). Is it a concious decision by the drummer that musically it makes sense to do nothing, or is it a skill limitation?
Old 01-27-2011, 08:04 PM

Default Re: Thoughts and questions on "simplistic" drumming from a beginner's point of view

Quote:
Originally Posted by haroldo_psf View Post
1) I noticed that in slower tempos, like in these two sons, although they are in essence very easy songs, it is harder to be precise and keep the beat in synch with the track's drums then compared to other faster tempo songs. Is it true? Or am I just too much of a beginner?