This bothers me :\

Mukund

Hey everyone !

I've been playing double bass since 2010,so that makes it around 4 years.
I used to play clean single strokes at 160-190 bpm.
Now here comes the sad part,now I can't even play at 120 properly.
This happened two months back.(Everyday my double bass became sloppy and slower and today my feet can't even play 120)
There can be many reasons-Pedal tension,seat height etc.
I've been playing in the same seat height since i started,so i guess that's ruled out.Pedal tension? Maybe but when i was able to play clean and fast strokes,i had the same tension.
So what's wrong here?
Have you ever been in such a situation?

How about batter head tension. Has it changed. Batter head is worn and loose? Old spring on pedal

I think you are either overtrained with your legs and they need a few days to recover or you have let your practice regimen slip and you are out of shape.

I would be shocked if a relatively minor thing like spring tension could be responsible for such a drastic drop.

Did something happen to you 2 months ago ? Some sort of injury ? or perhaps damage to the kit. Seems odd for a sudden change to happen.

If not an obvious physical injury perhaps some form of auto immune disease ?

I realize it is impolite to ask, but how old are you?

You're burning yourself out by trying to make something nonmusical. If you had a track to play along to that removed the numbers thing you'd get faster. Judging yourself by the speed of your feet against a clock of sorts is EXACTLY like judging your prowess as a lover with the results of a ruler. Yeah I said it...

There can be many reasons-Pedal tension,seat height etc.
I've been playing in the same seat height since i started,so i guess that's ruled out.

Not necessarily.

If you were at the wrong seat height all along, you could have slowly pinched a nerve/vessel that lead to an eventual slow down.