I've lost that feeling?

jamesf

All,
I've got something that's been bugging me for a bit now. I left my last band recently (amicably), as they wanted to head towards a music style that just wasn't in my interest, but since then, I've just had no interest in getting back behind the kit. I've been playing off and on for about 25, maybe 30 years by now and have always enjoyed being a groovemaster, but lately I just don't have the drive, it seems.
Have any of you been through this and is there any hope? I've sat behind my kit several times and tried to practice (usually I play along to selected tracks from my library that I've put together into my jam playlist) mostly to keep in shape, but there's just no fun or enjoyment anymore. Should I consider finding a good teacher to help me with my style and form, kind of like what Neil Peart did; or maybe I just need to find and join another band that puts the fun back in it?
Any advice is much appreciated!

jamesF

I've had this feeling before. It will pass. I took a two year break at one point, but when the feeling hit, it hit. I wanted to get back into the swing of things. I ended up joining a few groups and gigging regularly in no time. It also seems that I had more speed and focus than I had before. Good luck to you man. Most of us have been there.

I've never lost my interest in play drums, but playing in bands? sure.

The lugging of the gear, dealing with promoters, packing drums, unpacking drums at the venue, re-packing them afterwards, long sound checks only to end up with bad sound, band drama, singer's egos, bickering, etc, yeah, I've had periods of just no interest in playing outside of my practice room.