What's the process for selling on ebay?

Rene Dominguez

Can anyone tell me in detail what steps I have to go through when I sell something on ebay?

I already took pictures of the item and will create a listing but want to know if there is any additional info I need to get before I list it and how will I use it? For example do I need to go to the UPS store first to get my item weighed, then go back to making the listing and put in that info, or how does it work exactly? I'm kind of lost for words here since I've never done this before, so maybe you guys can help me out.

Finally, how many days is reasonable to give the buyer to pay for the item? And why do so many sellers say they want a bidder with little or no feedback to contact them in their listing?

Thank you again

Figuring out shiping can be a real pain. You can box the item, weigh it, and measure it, and use an on-line shipping info site (UPS, FedEx. and the USPS all have those). But those sometimes are inaccurate. eBay also has a "calculate shipping" feature. That too, can be inaccurate. Then there's the method you mentioned. That works great, if you don't mind making multiple trips to the UPS store.​
Since this is a drummers forum, I'll "assume" you're selling/shipping a drum. Use any "price finding" method of your choice, and double check it with eBay auctions currently running, with the same, or similar items. When I see someone with a "mildly" inflated shipping charge, no big deal. Hey, I've packed and shipped whole drum kits before. It can be a real pain. I begrudge no one, if they make a few bucks.​
I always stipulate buyer contacts me within' 3 days and payment within' 7 days. Some cats request "little or no feedback" people to contact them before bidding simply to figure out if someone's legit, or not. I've had my run in's with a few "or not's". Time wasters, is all they are.​