DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 12-31-2011, 06:02 AM

Default Books for developing 4 way independance.

Ok so this may need some back story. I studied wiht Carl Mottola from 84 to 2001, and had a few lessons with joe morello in there as well. Well, in 2001 I moved and my drums went into storage, books have been lost, and I'm plenty out of practice. I noticed that since I got my kit back my hands and feet are actually performing better than I thought they would, and i'm not having any trouble reading(I did buy a few books and a new practice pad before getting my kit back.). I am however having a massive issue with independence, specifically my right foot ( I'm a lefty). Could anyone recommend any books that can get me back on track?
Old 12-31-2011, 11:56 AM
Platinum Member

Default Re: Books for developing 4 way independance.

There are so many now, the choices are many. I'm sure you'll get many ideas from others on this different from what I list.

Some classic books people have used and still do:

4-Way Coordination by Marvin Dahlgren and Elliot Fine - this book is a killer for sure and will get your limbs moving for sure.

Syncopation - may want to research set application for this book - and there are hundreds - as it's written not as drum-set but is generally applied to the set. People here may have more help on this with written ideas.

Stick Control - same as Syncopation - can be used as various 4 way coordination exercises on set.

New Breed Books 1 & 2

Various Joel Rothman Books

Syncopation, Stick Control and even the New Breed books can be used with the most simple 4 way pattern ideas or extremely complex.

Other ideas I have studied from and use in my teaching... These are more jazz / latin focused.