DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 10-31-2011, 06:14 AM

Default New to drumming need some help.

Hello all, I'm new to drumming but have been practicing a lot lately on my Tama Swingstar 5 pc kit. I would like to add a smaller tom than the smallest one I have, as well as adding a floor tom larger than the one I have. I'd also like to upgrade the Tama hi hat and rides, as well as some nicer cymbals than the Zildjian ZBT crash and china I got used with this kit. I did add a new Sabian 8" splash that I like quite a bit. The skins are currently white Remo Ambassadors, but they are wearing out, and I'm not sure I like them all that much. Any and all suggestions appreciated as far as adding toms, the hardware necessary, and what cymbals I should look at next time I'm at Guitar Center (reasonably priced).

Thanks a lot!
Old 10-31-2011, 08:17 AM
Silver Member

Default Re: New to drumming need some help.

I would have to know all the exact drum sizes you have now to really tell you what I would personally add but my 2 cents..

Really learn to play with what u have before you start buying a bunch of new stuff to add on. I mean there's nothing wrong with it, especially if u wanna up grade your cymbals and stuff but try not to get to much going on to soon. It's easy to get sucked in to playing the same basic patterns on different cymbals and drums when u have a huge kit. That's just my opinion tho because that's just my experience.
But think about it this way. If all you had was a kick, snare, and hi hat would you find yourself trying to do new things with those 3 instruments? Maybe new stuff you wouldn't be doing if you could move that heavy beat u where just playing to a china cymbal instead?
Old 10-31-2011, 11:06 AM
Pollyanna's Agent

Hi