DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 08-26-2010, 01:12 AM

Default Can A Drummer Get A Break?

Hello all. I'm a drummer of many many years. I've been fortunate enough to be able to play in all of the residences I've lived in up until now in my life. I recently graduated college and have a good job in the area, so I'm sticking around for a while. Unfortunately, my neighbors at my new house aren't so crazy about me playing drums and complain every time I do. I've asked the music building on campus if I could use their rooms, but they're strictly for music students only.

I can't be the only person that's ever been in this situation. Does anyone know any good alternatives for where a drummer could go simply to practice and not bother anyone in the process? I've been looking for rental studio space in the area, but they're very difficult to find.

Any information would be greatly appreciated.
Old 08-26-2010, 01:20 AM
Platinum Member

Default Re: Can A Drummer Get A Break?

Mutes. E-kit, Mesh heads, Practice pads?
Old 08-26-2010, 01:26 AM
Gold Member

If you are a home owner and not living in a community that has shared walls such as townhouse or condo or for that matter in an apartment, then I would tell your neighbor that at certain hours of the day you are going to play and practice your craft...there is nothing illegal about it; I am thankful that my neighbors tell me they do not even hear me when I am playing, but if they did and it were an issue I would politely tell them that I will be doing practice at these certain hours like it or not.
Old 08-26-2010, 01:45 AM