DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 02-18-2010, 03:01 AM

Default Amazing internet jam site - no latency

I don't know how they do it but it works great.

Get Reaper (which is a DAW/music creator program and is free to try). Then get NINJAM

Set that all up with your recording set up and you can jam with up to 6 people from anywhere in the world.

http://www.ninjam.com/index.php

http://www.cockos.com/reaper/

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=12578
Old 02-18-2010, 03:27 AM
Silver Member

Default Re: Amazing internet jam site - no latency

have you used it?

It certainly sounds promising.
Old 02-18-2010, 03:39 AM

no latency = impossible
Old 02-18-2010, 04:25 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by muckypops View Post
no latency = impossible
I am a drummer and notice latency. I hear none. It sounds like everyone is mixed in my system as if they were in the room. I played for three hours last week and loved every minute of it. (I am an engineer and don't get how there is no latency either - especially if there are any satellite hops)

There are apparently other sites that have this feature. Online Jams for one. Now they charge a fee which over time is more than Reaper by far. (Reaper is free for 30 days then only $60 - Ninjam is a free app and the connections are free). Having said that I have not tried online Jams yet so it may be great.

Since Reaper is free to try and ninjam and the connections are free there is no risk to try it. (For a DAW Reaper is very computer and CPU friendly. Not a huge program to load and it doesn't kill resources)
Old 02-18-2010, 05:00 PM
Silver Member