DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Technique

Drum Technique Tips - Tricks - Practice - Rudiments - Educational DVDs & Books.....

Old 01-21-2014, 10:50 AM

Default double bass issue :\

I've been playing drums for almost 3 years now and got my double bass pedal a year ago. I've been having this issue where I do steady 16th notes (ex. Lamb Of God: Laid to Rest) about that speed but my feet decide to speed up for a quick second than I go off balance and lose my place I used to be able to play August Burns Red: Thirty and Seven perfectly now I'm back to 16th notes at just over 100 bpm :( any tips?
Old 01-21-2014, 12:13 PM

Default Re: double bass issue :\

Practice, practice very day.
And for some stamina for your legs you can ride a bike for half an our a day
Old 01-21-2014, 02:26 PM
Platinum Member

I have been playing double bass for ages and it's only recently that I've found the composure to continue playing through a fumble like this.

It's very much an attitude thing; if you accidentally speed up, or slow down or play a dud note, your mind says "abandon ship'', but if you know where you are in the bar and whether the next note is a left or a right... and you can play it in time; you can quickly get back on the horse. I think it's just a matter of being aware of what's going on down there at all times.
Old 01-21-2014, 03:29 PM
Silver Member

Make sure you also practise playing straight singles on one leg, and then the other. Get used to building that control without having the other leg complicating things.

Also practise alternating singles between a foot and a hand, if you can do that well then your singles between your feet will greatly improve.
Old 01-21-2014, 08:10 PM
Platinum Member