Freehand Technique by Johnny Rabb

Johnny Rabb

Hi everyone,

I have been developing and working on my single hand technique since 1994. I came up with the name Freehand Technique in 1995 and was very hopeful that all drummers would utilize it in their playing. Over the years I have been fortunate enough to teach it all over the world and release a book/CD and videos (1999 and 2014). Have you learned this technique? If so, where and how? With the onset of YouTube in the early days, it was tough to keep people from posting clinics or performances. I would love to know everyone's view point on where this technique came from. I have my own stance on this topic, but really am trying to get to the bottom of what the drumming public thinks. I hope everyone is doing great and all the best with your drumming!

-Johnny Rabb

While I have no contributions to your post, I do want to say... Holy crap, it's Johnny fn Rabb!

It's an honor and a privilege to have you here sir. You're amazing.

Welcome Johnny to the forum! It's an honour to have you here!
(And it was a pleasure to witness your performance with Dirk Brand at the Karlsruhe Trommeltage in late 2013.)

(I was hoping that new registering member would be the real Johnny Rabb - yes!)

While I haven't checked all the particulars related to this technique, the consensus on this forum is that Jared Falk wrongly claimed that he was the inventor of this technique a few years ago. He made an ass of himself as a result. To my knowledge you are 'officially' considered the inventor of the freehand technique. And most everybody agrees.

OMG JOHNNY RABB!!
I met you on the Musicmesse @ Musik Produktiv a few years ago.. Still have your autograph :) You're a great guy and a phenomenal drummer!!

I have started practicing your technique after I met you but somehow I gave up on it as I don't have any purpose for it...