Double Bass Inconsistency

Chrispb7

Hey guys, Heres a frustrating situation. Friday when I practiced, after warming up,
i could play sixteenth notes at 180 bpm cleanly on my double pedal. Saturday was the
same thing. I took sunday off and today when i played, I was doing like, 140 bpm cleanly
tops. This is not the first time this has happened. My theory is something to do with
the motion, like when i have a good day my legs and ankles are combining motions
but i dont know for sure.

does anyone know what i can do to fix this?

It's your body. Some days you'll have good days, some days will be dreadful.

I assume you're new to double bass? It will take you years to be able to play those tempos consistently. I've been double-bassing for just over 3 years and am maxing out at about 225BPM. Just keep practicing.

Hey guys, Heres a frustrating situation. Friday when I practiced, after warming up,
i could play sixteenth notes at 180 bpm cleanly on my double pedal. Saturday was the
same thing. I took sunday off and today when i played, I was doing like, 140 bpm cleanly
tops. This is not the first time this has happened. My theory is something to do with
the motion, like when i have a good day my legs and ankles are combining motions
but i dont know for sure.

does anyone know what i can do to fix this?

Oh the lovely depressing world of practicing double bass. Believe me friend you will have many days like this. However there is light at the end of the tunnel. Don't delve too deep into the situation, just keep plugging away with what you are doing and eventually you'll be playing the speeds consistently every day of the week.

Sometimes your body feels tired, sometimes just your legs feel tired and sometimes you just can't get the motions down.