DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 08-30-2011, 09:58 PM
gibsy gibsy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
Default linking drums to stereo

Sorry,new to this and not very techno minded,but can my son link his yamaha dtxplorer to his stereo by way of a lead/cable so that he can hear himself live,without buying an amp.
He will buy one if this idea doesnt work.Any help appreciated.
uk member
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-30-2011, 10:00 PM
DrumEatDrum's Avatar
DrumEatDrum DrumEatDrum is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 9,322
Default Re: linking drums to stereo

It depends on if the stereo has inputs.

Many do, but not all.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-30-2011, 10:06 PM
Deathmetalconga's Avatar
Deathmetalconga Deathmetalconga is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 7,273
Default Re: linking drums to stereo

Yes, you can do this with the right connector cables and it's not too hard. However, you won't be able to play very loud, as home stereos and speakers aren't meant to handle those kind of volume levels. But for just practicing, it should be fine.
__________________
Ironwood kit Tiki kit Openhanders Vids
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-30-2011, 10:11 PM
barryabko's Avatar
barryabko barryabko is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 323
Default Re: linking drums to stereo

The connection can be made between the headphone out jack on the drum module and an "aux" input on the stereo using the proper adaptor cables.

He should be VERY careful to only use it at low to mid volumes as the stereo amp and speakers are designed to play back recordings of instruments and not amplify electronic instruments directly.

The headphone volume control on the module should not be set at more than 60% to 70%. Even lower if the signal from the module is too high and overloading the input of the stereo. Excess volume or extreme bass may damage the stereo. Also make sure not to add bass or treble or use the "loudness" button.

He'd be better off using headphones directly out of the module.

Barry

Last edited by barryabko; 08-30-2011 at 11:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-31-2011, 12:54 AM
drumr_102's Avatar
drumr_102 drumr_102 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 273
Default Re: linking drums to stereo

you could just adapt the 1/4" output into 3.5mm and use an aux cable and plug that into an aux jack on your stereo, but it will probably sound bad and most likely distorted (at which point means your speakers are gonna blow) Obviously drums have a wide range of frequencies, but you may have a badass stereo that can handle it.

I practice on a dtxplorer kit and I have to say that headphones are the cheapest way to go. I tried hooking it up to our band's PA and it couldn't handle the kick drum, of course the PA doesn't have a sub either.

I suggest an experiment, just be weary of distortion that isn't supposed to be there
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Bernhard Castiglioni's DRUMMERWORLD.com