Carpal Tunnel

HeadRush

over my years of drumming, I have developed carpal tunnel because as a young drummer I used terrible technique. This was also brought on from playing other instruments like guitar. I guess a reason I used bad technique was that I had no formal training at all. I would like to know if anyone else has had problems with your hands or carpal tunnel brought on by drumming or something else?

over my years of drumming, I have developed carpal tunnel because as a young drummer I used terrible technique. This was also brought on from playing other instruments like guitar. I guess a reason I used bad technique was that I had no formal training at all. I would like to know if anyone else has had problems with your hands or carpal tunnel brought on by drumming or something else?

I've been drumming for a little over two years and after my first year, I developed severe tendonosis (chronic tendonitis) due to several hours of drumming everyday w/ so-so technique.

I went to physical therapy and they used a technique called ASTYM - which gives IMMEDIATE results. It's based on the ancient Chinese practice of Gua Sha. This applies to any type of RSI - including carpal tunnel.

In a nutshell, you lubricate your arms w/ some type of lotion or cocoa butter and "scrape" in a linear motion with a plastic tool.

I can't rave enough about it, it allowed me to go home and start playing again after the first session. The pain was nearly gone immediately after he was done.

It has taken the past year to improve my technique to a point where I no longer need anything and the pain is about 95% gone. For a while, however - I just did this to my own arms with Gua Sha tools I bought off of eBay, whenever the pain came back. It was simple enough to learn from watching, after a few therapy sessions.

Gary Husband posted here about another method called "Active Release Therapy". I don't know anything about it but it's another non-surgical option.

oh thank you