What kit to buy for a newbie? Advise please

grecko

good day all,this is my first time here and i really need help...ive only been playing for six months and am totally hooked its all i want to do right now..im so keen to get a kit but not sure how to get what i want, my teacher is trying to sell me a really nice mapex kit at a great price,however,,am i going to regret this the second i start to play on a gretch or tamma? how do i know what symbols i like if i cant hit them all at the same time,start small to find out ? or just get the best i can afford and switch from there ? i live in brisbane australia and would gladly shout a few beers over lunch to pick some brains,0438439237 please help.

Re: helpful advise please

I really suggest you search the forum, theres 1000+ threads on this topic, also the forum rules do say that you should make the title more specific, "helpful advise please" is pretty ambiguous.

Anyway since you've already got a teacher ask him about it, he knows who you are, what playing style you have, as well as what genre you will mostly be playing and can help get the best kit for you.

Although he maybe a bit bias with his Mapex kit remember that hes been playing drums way longer, he will have care and respect for all of his drums and wont just be trying to sell you a kit for a bit of quick profit. This is all assuming he is a good reputable teacher and not some guy giving lessons cause he plays rock/metal drums and some jazz.

Mapex do make excellent kits even in there lower range of the Tornado, The Meridian Birch is a great kit, but may be out of your price range, having your price range might help by the way.

As for cymbals, always try to go out and play them in the store, then you can know what they sound like as each cymbal sounds different, but as a guide always spend more on cymbals than on your drums, you can tune drums to sound good but you cant tune a cymbal.

Ps its "Cymbal" not "Symbol"