Davo-London

Gold Member
So here’s my mad idea:

If a manufacturer offered the following:

• Kick Drum: 18” x 14” and 22” x 14”
• Snare: 14” x 5.5”
• Rack Toms: 10” x 7” and 12” x 8”
• Floor Toms: 14” x 12” and 16” x 14”

Then you could just about do any gig under the sun, i.e.

Jazz with 18” kick and 14” floor tom and either 10” or 12” rack tom

Pop with 22” kick and both rack toms and maybe 14” or 16" floor tom

Rock with 22” kick and all the toms or just 16” floor tom

This also caters for the 2 up 1 down and the 1 up 2 down kind of folk

And it should keep Bo happy!

I’m relatively new to drums, so has any manufacturer ever offered 2 different kick drums as part of a kit?

Cheers
Davo

I doubt you'll find it as part of a standard configuration, but just about all manufacturers will happily let you order extra drums.

Most brand will offer the 22, 10, 12, 14, 16 setup right off the shelf, so all you have to do then is buy an 18" kick drum in the same series and finish.

Alternatively, you might be able to find two separate kits. One kit with 22" kick, 12" and 16" toms (a typical "rock" setup) and another kit with an 18" kick, 10" and 14" toms (a typical "jazz" setup). Combine the two and you have what you want (along with an extra snare and a few extra bits of hardware)

I've never seen a kit offered with two bass drums as a standard factory option. There are, of course, many custom kits which have been ordered this way. That's because people buy into the hype of getting a smaller bass drum for jazz and a larger one for rock. All you really need is a 20"x14" bass drum and you're all set. :D

I bought a vintage Ludwig silver sparkle 12/13/16/22 to complement my existing 12/14/20, thinking I could use the bigger bass drum for louder gigs, mix and match the toms as I pleased, etc. I have yet to play a gig where I NEED anything other than my 12/14/20.