Help! Recommend me a bass drum mic!

DeepSabbathRailRoad

Hello, i'm new here, I need some help. I play a Gretsch Catalina Club-Rock kit w/ a 26in bass drum, it's loud as hell and i love it. I am about to buy a bass drum mic to use for when I play live shows and I have no idea what kind of bass drum mic to buy or which kind is preferable for bigger kits like the 26inchers. The music I play w/ is LOUD rock in roll and some metal. I play drums w/ music like old school Black Sabbath, Deep Purple, Grand Funk Railroad, Cactus, Led Zep, Captain Beyond etc. and I also play new stuff like High On Fire, Sleep, Kyuss, Queens of the Stone Age, Fu Manchu. The most popular mics I've read about are the Beta 52, AKG D112 and the Audix D-6 but once again, I have zero experience w/ either mic and I don't know which kind of mics may be better for bigger bass drum mics. Just a little help, i'm NOT a big fan of the "click" sound that you hear on a lot of drums on a lot on speed metal records. I like a mic that captures the WHOLENESS/FULLNESS of a bass drum. What kind of bass drum mic should I buy?????? Thanks in advance. -Jay

i have the d112 and have nothing but praise for it, however i have only used it on a 22" not sure how much of a difference it would make going to a 26" does cost come into it at all ?

If it's within your budget, an Electrovoice RE-20. One of the most accurate bass drum microphones I've ever used. It won't muddy up because of proximity effects and accepts very high SPLs. They're about $425 USD new or you can find the used for between $275 and $350.

DSC_0220.jpg

Dennis

For your purpose, and for kicks in general, I really like these: http://cgi.ebay.com/Audio-Technica-...emQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item27b078d628