Lugs. What should I do?...

Goreliscious

About 2 months ago I bought a 13 x 6.5 Tama Metalworks snare and I've had a problem with detuning lugs/tension rods. Originally I thought it might be my fault because I put Vaseline in the lugs, but I cleaned them out the other day and the lugs around where I'm rim-shotting are still detuning quite a bit.

I've now bought some Lug Locks and stuck them on every batter side tension rod - but in a way I feel that's not something I should have to do. I've never used Lug Locks before so I don't really know how much to expect from them. If the problem continues even with the Lug Locks, do you think I'm within my rights to return it to the shop? Even on relatively cheap drums you should be able to expect a degree of reliability.

My previous snare was a Metalworks 13 x 4 (I got the 6.5 to get a bit more body in my sound) but I never noticed the problem on that snare.

What d'ya think?

Yeah I'm aware of them, but I don't feel I should have to spend money on products like that to fix a fault with a new drum.

Ultimately what I'm asking is - do you think there's a fault with the lugs, or is this just a fact of life for heavy hitting back-beaters? I'll splash my cash on products like those if the consensus is it aint a problem with the drum, but otherwise it feels like I've been sold a dud at normal price and been told I've got to pay extra to fix it.

If you're a heavy rimshot backbeat guy, detuning is a fact of life on almost any drum. Essentially, the better the drum, the less the problem exists, but it's still there. The problem is typically worse on a cheaper drum. Thread depth in the lug, accuracy of thread cutting, hoop type, weight of stick, all play their part.

Detuning is just one of those things that can happen to any drum.

Lug Locks are useless pieces of plastic IMO.
Tightscrews will fix your detuning rod.

Those rods the KIS linked are a good idea.