DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Technique

Drum Technique Tips - Tricks - Practice - Rudiments - Educational DVDs & Books.....

Old 11-13-2009, 11:20 PM

Default Help with Jazz Ride Cymbal technique

Hi all, how is everyone?

I know there must be a million and one threads of Ride technique but this one is a little more specfic. I'm currently studying Drumset at BIMM (Brighton Institute of Modern Music) and one of our modules is Jazz.

Now today my Teacher (Preston Prince) told me that my technique on the Ride is good but I could get better results out of it if I played with my Thumb on top. I'm a player who uses a lot of Finger and very loose yet controlled grip, we sat down for a while and figured out where to take it and he seemed fairly certain I'd best suit a Max Roach style grip; Thumb not quite atop the Stick but just slightly to the side. The problem was; I was letting my Thumb not dangle as such but, I wasn't exactly involving it in any major way with my technique.

What I'm after is some kind of visual source where I can get a good view of Max's grip, in order to just compare and get a clear picture of it in my mind. I've looked on Youtube but there are suprsingly few vids of him up there and even then there are non where he's really playing the Ride.

So! I know there are MANY knowledgeable people on this Forum and I was hoping somone would be able to point me in the right direction of sourcing this material. Any help would be greatly appreciated, I'm not one of these players who is obessed with having 'the perfect technique' I mereley want to acheive the best technique for me as an individual.

Hope everyone is well,

Kev

Last edited by K.Howden; 11-18-2009 at 10:43 PM.
Old 11-14-2009, 12:02 AM
Silver Member

Default Re: Help with Jazz Ride Cymbal technique

This isn't Max, but John Riley and it might help:

http://drummerworld.com/Videos/johnr...temporide.html
Old 11-14-2009, 01:51 AM