The dream vs. reality.

Andy

Honorary Member
As a snapshot further to my thread on dangerous wood dusts. First picture is the dream wood shop, 2nd picture is reality - me machining pau ferro shells.

Attachments

• woodwrights-shop.jpg
    woodwrights-shop.jpg
    832.6 KB · Views: 348
  • PPE.jpg
    PPE.jpg
    945.9 KB · Views: 347
that's a cool shot of both shops, I can actually feel the old shop from this pic with the wood burning stove and wood dust covering the floor. The modern version lacks that old world charm, but more than gets the job done. I would love to make a living working in either.

I just wonder if the old Maple, Pine, and Oak from the day had the same toxins as some of the exotic woods you are using today.

And lets get some tape around that sleeve/glove seam.

Last edited:
Dang Andy that is some garb. When I was a researcher I used a lot of radioactive tracers and wore a similar outfit just no respirator. Hot as hell and about the time you are all geared up you need to go pee. Wore multiple layers of gloves. It's amazing no matter how careful when cleaning up and checking with Geiger counter you'd find radioactivity all over the place course some was from others using the area. Had a pair of jeans get contaminated with short life orthophosphate and I had to leave my pants in the lab till it decayed. We used some deadly toxins and I've been exposed to do many carcinogens I've lost count- even had one nerve gas scare

Love it.

All of life seems to be a bit like that.
(except for those rather rare occasions)
Ain't that the truth!

I would love to make a living working in either.
So would I ;)

I just wonder if the old Maple, Pine, and Oak from the day had the same toxins as some of the exotic woods you are using today.

And lets get some tape around that sleeve/glove seam.