Dealing with angry neighbors

Drumbo

Ive been playing for about 3 years now, about half a year in i got a bunch of complaints from one neighbor, so my perants spent a bunch of money on soundproofing and i further limited the time i played drums (1.00-8.00 to 1.00 - 5.00pm).

This worked for a while, no complains from these guys but we got 3 voice-mails over 2 days about a week ago saying that the guy had been driven domented by the drumming, that it was "anti-social behavior" ect and that if we dont "do somthing about it" they will call the police.

We are putting the kit on a platform and getting further soundproofing in my stables (where the kit is) but this is not enough for him, him and his wife basically dont want to hear anything ever and if they do they threaten to phone the police.

Ive had no problems from other neighbors, nearly all that ive spoken to about it were actually supportive but now im trying to find out what happens if they phone the police, are there any laws against it or anything? (im in Scotland so the laws will be from here)

Also any tips on soundproofing would be apprechiated, other than getting a electric kit.

Last edited:
Doesn't matter where you live or what the law is.
If someone keeps on complaining the police will try to shut you down by eventually arresting you for a minor charge like disorderly conduct or the like.
If you can't resolve the issue with your neighbor you will find yourself in court at some point.

but now im trying to find out what happens if they phone the police,

Nothing. Let 'em call.