When should you stop taking lessons

TNA

I took lessons my first 2 years of drumming and then stopped due to going to college, I have been playing for 7 total though. Recently I decided to start taking lessons again, but I'm not sure if I want to stick with them. I'm not saying I'm a prefect drummer, far from it, and there is still a lot I can learn. But I also know that if I really focused my practices and worked on improving my skills rather than just playing to have fun for an hour I can become a better drummer. Is it still worth it at this point to pay $50 a week for lessons. I believe at this point I am a fairly skilled drummer and can hold my own in most circumstances.

When I felt I'd aquired the skills to continue teaching myself. That said, I wouldn't hesitate to go back for one-off or less regular sessions if I ever thought I needed to, or thought a teacher can offer a different angle than I could myself.

You stop taking lessons when you know everything there is to know.

I was going to say the exact same thing, or "Once you know it all."

Of course I do believe that you can outgrow some teachers. Others even though you may think you can outplay them have tons of wisdom that only comes from years of experience.

Interesting viewpoints. Question for you. Are both you guys still taking regular (let's say weekly or fortnightly) lesson after all these years?

Surely there comes a time for "school's out"? By that I mean do you really think a drummer of 45 years experience needs a weekly drum lesson? I'm not talking about the guy who goes back for sporadic lessons or intermittently in order to learn a new trick or revise an old one. I'm talking about weekly lessons for a prolonged period of time (which is how I read the initial tone of the OP).

No-one stays at school forever, that doesn't mean the learning process stops though.