DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Technique

Drum Technique Tips - Tricks - Practice - Rudiments - Educational DVDs & Books.....

Old 03-30-2018, 05:19 AM

Default Beginner Metal Songs?

Hello everyone!

I've been drumming for a little bit now, but I've realized that I've just been practicing the same easy stuff over and over again, and I haven't really gone anywhere. I mainly listen to prog metal (stuff like Periphery) and Metalcore (stuff like Northlane), but each both bands have great drummers, and I'd be pretty lost if I tried to start playing any of their songs.

Can you guys recommend any beginner metal songs that will get me started on the genre and build my repertoire? I'm also pretty new to metal, so maybe some classics that would bring me up to speed would also be nice.

Thanks!
Old 03-31-2018, 11:56 AM

Default Re: Beginner Metal Songs?

Choose whatever songs you like the most. That will give you motivation, hopefully :)

Playing them badly is the beginning to playing them well.
Old 03-31-2018, 05:12 PM
Platinum Member

If your learning metalcore start working on that double bass, keep it clean, work on broken patterns with your feet at slower tempos and speed it up, 1/8 notes, triplets, 16th notes etc.

If you want to learn Periphery, you better get your rudiments down and work on ghost notes as well. keep learning the double kick too.

Natural progression, listen to the music you like, take lessons, keep getting better at drums. In time what you hear will make sense.
Old 04-04-2018, 12:21 PM

Suicide Silence? I love metal, but I'm trying to think of what's less 'impossible'. Maybe Crowbar? Carcass, Pantera, Morbid Angel, unsure what is going to be beginner friendly. But also, try anything. I used to have Tool in my practice regimen. Doesn't mean I could play it.