What's up

Nickropolis

Hey people, my name is Nick, you can call me whatever you like though. I'm from Halifax Nova Scotia, and I'm 26 years old.

I'm a new drummer, I started out a few years ago on my own with an Ibanez electric guitar trying to pick that up but never really had the knack or even the drive despite how great I think guitars are. I gave up on that and never picked it back up. Then I started playing the Guitar Hero and Rock Band games and gave the drums on that a shot, it was great fun and much more natural to me than the guitar.

After getting pretty good at the Rock Band songs, I had taken a trip to my roommate's parent's house to pick up some stuff and her father had recently bought a set of drums and she offered to let me try them out to see what real kits are like to play. Well, something just clicked when I sat down on the throne and the first beat that I started to play was accompanied by this stupid grin on my face. I had no idea that I could enjoy playing music this much.

A few weeks after that I bought a used Dixon kit, I couldn't get the urge to play real drums out of my system the entire time so I had to have my own. It's been a few weeks since the purchase and I'm pretty sure I've played at least 15 or 20 minutes every day so far, sometimes like three or four 45 minute sessions. It's got absolutely nothing to do with practicing to get better, that's just a benefit right now, I just love doing it.

I took a few pictures of my kit when I got it and some new ones this morning, it'll give you an idea of the progression. They are kinda dark, camera on my phone and dark room and whatnots.

Original:

1001102109000.jpg

All stock skins and mounts from the previous owner but were used enough to replace for sure, he played metal and stuff. 12, 13, 16 inch toms, 20 or 22 inch bass (I forget) Sabian B8 hats, crash and ride, steel snare of some variety.

Current:

1001260831000.jpg

1001260831001.jpg

1001260833000.jpg