Help choosing bass drum pedal, PLEASE!

mabhz

Hi all! Once again I come to ask for your advice, this time concerning the choice of a double bass drum pedal.

Again, let me explain: the most OBVIOUS choice would be going to a local drum store and trying each one for myself. Problem is I live in a country/place these itens cant be found (or are EXTREMELLY) expensive, so it leaves me with the international online shopping option. Therefore, I have to choose and make a purchase WITHOUT actually trying a product for myself.

So... here´s the deal:

I have been using a cheap Mapex single pedal for 4 years now. Thats the pedal I actually learned to play.

Last year I wanted to give myself a "top quality" pedal so I bought a Tama Speed Cobra single pedal, mostly because of its long footboard. I also bought it without playing it first, mostly based on the longboard and because its pretty famous.

Notice that Im NOT a fast bass drum player, never will be, and I only play heel down. The only "fast" playing I do would be a "John Bonham triplets-like" fast run.

After one year trying it, I concluded that I definitely still play better (it feels more confortable!) with the old heavy Mapex. I have trying many settings on the Speed Cobra, but still cant get to make it feel like the Mapex. The SC is soooo soft that I almost feel like I´m NOT playing on it!! I cant feel the pedal under my feet!! Its akward! hahaha

Basically, I guess I like "heavier" pedals, ones that feels like it has more "resistance" and fights back with my feet. The Speed Cobra is a fantastic piece of equipment, but its too soft, too loose, lacks "tension", resistance. Even with the spring at the hardest tension, its waaaay too loose and soft compared to the Mapex.

I found that I actually feel better with "heavy" pedals because where I have my drum lessons, there´s this cheap Yamaha single pedal with a ball felt, and strap instead of chain. I just LOVE that beast!! I play soooo easily on it!!