Why did you start drumming?

drummerquestion

i am doing research on drummers and I am trying to find out why drummers decided to be drummers and what is your ultimate goal as a drummer. Thanks for your help.

Personally, my grandparents got me a kit when I was 5 on account of my penchant for hitting things.

Well for me I started off playing trumpet in grade school, then that wasn't "cool" so i picked up a guitar. Well I had way to much energy to just sit there & learn that. So a buddy of mine was a drummer I sat behind his kit & was HOOKED!!! 20 years ago I was a drummer so I could be a "rock star" now it's a wonderfully fun hobby & a great way to deal with the stress of the daily grind.

Once your done with your research please let us all know how it turned out.

Gene Simmons of Kiss said it best many, many years ago ..almost every male that starts playing music does it for girls..most won't admit it and some may not even know it but thats why most of us started playing..(I'm quoting here, very poorly but quoting) I happen to agree with him though as far as I am concerned..shallow? you betcha!! but its the truth...as for why I picked drums..I believe its the physical nature of them that appealed to me.. my goal at 48 is to have fun and make a few extra $$ @ 14 my goal was to be a rockstar

I started drumming at the age of two, so not really sure why I started. My entire family is either musicians of some kind or music teachers, so it was kind of a given that I would play some sort of musical instrument. The drums/percussion have just always been more appealing than anything else to me.

I'm not sure I have an ultimate goal just yet, but I hope to always play in a band that plays shows/gigs. If I get lucky and I'm able to make a living at it, then great, but it's not about the money for me.