Next size up from a 5B stick?

toothie96

I'm worried of sounding like a complete novice with this, but i'm just completely stuck. So here it goes...

I've played with Vic Firth 5B/5BN's for as long as i can remember. They're just about right for everything i've played, and they've suited me well. Yet march last year i bought a new kit, and i've found that i'm breaking far more sticks than what is 'normal'. I've come to the conclusion that the sticks aren't as strong as what's needed for this kit.

I've trawled the internet looking for a size guide, but to no avail. I need a pair of sticks that are the next strongest to the 5B's. So what is the next size up from a 5B?

Thanks in advance!

2Bs are thicker.

But seriously, if you're breaking 5Bs you're doing something wrong and probably injuring yourself too.

To my mind if you're even just splitting and splintering sticks you're hitting things wrong

I'll go along by saying 2B and 3A too, but there's also Vic Firth SD1 General, approximately like a 2B, slightly larger diameter and longer with a round tip, and fairly light for such sticks (maple).

Try changing technique before sticks. If you are breaking it near the tip or shoulder, check all your cymbal angles they are probably chewing it apart. If it is breaking where you do rimshots in the middle of the stick I've found a little electrical tape doesn't affect feel and keeps them from shattering. Also try to buy the most knotty looking sticks, they are tougher.

You can also look into different hoops like stick savers (haven't tried them but heard good things) or you can look into promark's oak sticks, I used them for awhile they are heavier for the same size and much tougher, though they are more likely to fail without any notice (they shatter instead of chip) but I got tired of the feel and I heard that Dennis Chambers had to stop using them because his doctor said they transfer too much energy into his hand.

Thanks for all of the suggestions guys!