Feet development, need for double pedal, etc

haroldo_psf

So, I started to leard 3 months ago. My teacher told me that we will develop both of my right and left foot as evenly as possible, and that if I can afford, to get a double pedal.

Does everyone develop their left and right foot together, or most people just get a fast right foot initially and then later try to get the left foot up to speed?

I would think it makes sense to start with both feet right away, right?

And then the next question... After much searching, there are a billion double pedals out there. I am able to spend about $300 on one. The DW 5000 SD3 looks good, and even bein a little over my budget ($379) I could still swing.

The question is: Do I need it?

I am an electrical engineer by trade, and will never be a "pro". I may in a couple of years or so join a band for fun, but that will be completely for leisure, if anything. So, I don't think I will be moving my gear around to need a super robust pedal.

I don't even own an accustic set yet. I own a Yamaha DTXplorer. I would like something kinda nice so when I get my accustic set probably next year (2012), I can keep it for a while to come.

Is this pedal worth the price even for someone like me? I.E is the feel it provides better than, say, some other $200 alternative?

If the answer is that I don't need this, what is something else anybody would care to recommend?

Last question: what is the best and why: belt, chain, direct drive?

If you have a kick pedal and a hi hat pedal, you can work on your feet. I wouldn't buy a double pedal just as a matter of course to be honest. If you think you'd like to practise with one, or may end up playing a style of music that calls for one....then sure, why not. But I don't think you need one purely to work your feet.....you can still do this by keeping one foot on the bass drum pedal and one foot on the hi hat pedal.