DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 05-25-2012, 04:31 AM

Default Piccolo snares for rock. Bad idea?

Good day, people. I'm new here. This is my first post on this forum, so I'd like to say hello to everyone before asking my question.

Alrighty, so! I'm pretty new to drumming. I got a cheap kit about three months ago and I've been playing basically every day. I started on bass, then moved to guitar, now I'm learning drums. I'm teaching myself the same way I did with bass and guitar- hours of practice a day.

Now, I mentioned my kit was cheap. That means I paid $140 for it from an online ad. The toms sound really good for that price-- my friend who's playing Pearl masters was actually jealous of my floor tom. Haha. But... the snare sounds like crap. Now, I've been looking at a Piccolo snare. Mapex has a 13x3.5 and I absolutely LOVE its tone (and at $99, who wouldn't love its price?), but that's piccolo dimensions, isn't it? I play mostly rock and/or metal, and I haven't heard of guys using piccolos in those genres. I love the tone, but I'm not sure if it'll be audible or sound good while playing heavier music. I'm mainly a bassist, and with bass, a good tone on its own normally sounds horrid (if it's not totally inaudible) once an overdriven guitar starts going, and I'm not sure if snares will be the same. Like I said, I love this snare on its own, but I've never heard it in a mix. I've never heard a piccolo in any rock or metal, so sound clips would be great if possible.

I know the end decision is up to me, but I'd really like some opinions from real drummers before I make that decision.

Thanks for any and all help and opinions!
-Austen
Old 05-25-2012, 04:38 AM
Platinum Member

Default Re: Piccolo snares for rock. Bad idea?